1. Where To Apply:
Champaign County Clerk's Office
Fill Out An Application Online (Save time by filling out the application online and bringing your confirmation number to our office)
2. When To Apply:
Apply at least one calendar day prior to the wedding; the license is valid for 60 days after the effective date. Both parties must appear at the County Clerk's Office to obtain the Marriage License.
$75.00 - Cash or Credit/Debit Card only. ($1.75 service charge for Credit/Debit Card)
4. Office Hours:
- Monday - Friday
- 8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.
- Except for county holidays
5. Age Requirements:
You must be at least 18 years of age. You can be married at ages 16 or 17, but BOTH NATURAL PARENTS must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk's Office at the time you apply for the Marriage License.
6. Identification Required:
Valid driver's license or acceptable ID is required for both parties. It may also be necessary to show proof of age when applying for a Marriage License.
Acceptable Forms of Identification to Obtain A Marriage License
One of the following:
- Illinois Driver's License
- Illinois State Identification Card
- IL FOID Card (Firearm Owner ID)
- Out-Of-State Driver's License or State Identification Card
- US Government Driver's License
- Naturalization Certification
- US Military Identification Card
- US Immigration Card
- Selective Service Card
- Matricula Card issued by the Mexican Consulate
- CU MTD Bus Pass Card
Or one from each of the following two categories:
- Social Security Card or Print Out
- Voter Registration Card
- Photo Work Identification Card
- Traffic Ticket
- Resident Alien Card
- School Identification Card
- Checkbook or Savings book (showing name and address)
- Champaign County Jail Photo ID Bracelet
- W-2 Form
- Bank Statement (within the past 90 days)
- Utility Bill (within the past 60 days)
- Active Insurance Policy (at least 1 year old)
- Vehicle Registration Card
- Current Lease
- Current 1st Class Mail
- Jail Discharge Papers (needs to be approved by County Clerk)
All documents must be current and valid.
7. Where The Marriage License May Be Used:
Licenses issued by the Champaign County Clerk's Office are only valid for ceremonies performed in Champaign County
Note: Any person who with the intention to deceive, willfully uses or attempts to use any certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of birth knowing that such certificate or certified copy was issued upon a record that is false in whole or in part or that relates to the birth of another person, is guilty of a Class 4 felony in the state of Illinois.