Mobile Homes

Owning a mobile home or a mobile home park in Champaign County comes with legal requirements. If the information below does not answer your questions, please email the Taxes Division at propertytaxes@co.champaign.il.us.

Mobile Home Owners

REGISTERING YOUR MOBILE HOME

As a mobile home owner you are required to register your home. Registration must be up to date with the current owner or resident within 10 days upon inhabiting. Failure to register your mobile home is a Class A Misdemeanor.

Register your mobile home by completing the Mobile Home Registration form and returning it to the Clerk's Office. You can email it to propertytaxes@co.champaign.il.us or mail it the Clerk's Office at the address listed below.

Mailing address for the form: Champaign County Clerk, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 E Washington St, Urbana, IL 61820

UPDATING THE MOBILE HOME ADDRESS

If you move your mobile home, you must update the information with us at the Clerk's Office. In order to do that you must complete the Mobile Home Registration form and return it to the Clerk's Office. You can email it to propertytaxes@co.champaign.il.us or mail it the Clerk's Office at the address listed below.

Mailing address for the form: Champaign County Clerk, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 E Washington St, Urbana, IL 61820

PAYING MOBILE HOME PROPERTY TAXES

Mobile homes DO pay property taxes! Technically the tax is called a privilege tax but it functions as a property tax. Property tax bills are sent by the Champaign County Treasurer/Collector in March/April every year and have one installment due in June. Paying this on time is very important. Failure to pay property taxes can result in increased fees and eventually a loss of the home. If you didn't receive your property tax bill by mid-May, contact the Treasurer/Collector's Office at treasurer@co.champaign.il.us or 217/384-3743.

If you need your mobile home property tax bill sent to a different address, you need to update the Mobile Home Registration form. You can email it to propertytaxes@co.champaign.il.us or mail it the Clerk's Office at the address listed below.

Mailing address for the form: Champaign County Clerk, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 E Washington St, Urbana, IL 61820

EXEMPTIONS

Mobile homes have three possible exemptions: senior citizen, disabled person, and disabled veteran. To apply for a exemption, complete the Mobile Home Registration form. You can email it to propertytaxes@co.champaign.il.us or mail it the Clerk's Office at the address listed below.

Senior Citizen & Disabled Person exemptions can receive 20% off the total property tax bill for the mobile home. Senior citizens must be at least 65 years of age and provide ID verifying age. Individuals with disabilities will need to provide a claim number. For senior citizen and disabled exemptions the individual applying must be the title holder and living in the mobile home. Once the exemption has been verified, it does not need to be applied for year after year.

Disabled Veterans can receive 100% off the total property tax bill for the mobile home. They must be the title holder and living in the mobile home. Disabled veteran status must be verified with discharge papers or a veteran's assistance letter of benefits. Once the exemption has been verified, it does not need to be applied for year after year.

Mailing address for the form: Champaign County Clerk, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 E Washington St, Urbana, IL 61820

TRANSFERRING THE TITLE OF A MOBILE HOME

Transferring the title of a mobile home involves multiple government offices. Please follow the steps outlined below.

1. All property taxes on the mobile home must be paid - current tax year and any delinquent. The process cannot go forward with any outstanding taxes.

2. Acquire a Certificate of Taxes Paid from the Treasurer/Collector's Office, verifying that all taxes are paid.

  • The title must be present for the Treasurer/Collector's Office to inspect when requesting the Certificate of Taxes Paid.
  • Before receiving the Certificate, you will need to complete a Mobile Home Registration form at the Treasurer/Collector's Office. You can download and bring with you or copies will be available there.
  • The Treasurer/Collector's Office will provide 2 copies of the Certificate, 1 is for the Clerk's Office and 1 is for the Secretary of State.

2. The title must be signed by the buyer and the seller.

3. Take the signed title and Certificate of Taxes Paid to the DMV and have the title transferred.

Mobile Home Park Owners and/or Managers

Information for Mobile Home Park Owners and/or Managers will be coming soon!

Scroll to the Top